During a telephone conversation with my mum I made a request and was hopeful she would be excited to grant me my request, alas, she said NO. I felt bad and teary, I told her it was okay and directed the conversation towards other topics. She however sensed my disappointment in the tone of my voice and tried explaining the reason behind her answer, but the damage had already been done.
That request was one I hoped if granted will afford my mum and I 2-days of mother and daughter time together away from the demands of our daily routine, one I had built castles in the sky about.

How many times have we hurt these little ones because we were unable to decode their language?

Being aware of your child’s temperament can be a game-changer in your parenting style. It can give you a better perspective on how to interpret your child’s behaviour and help you choose how to accept, support and nurture your child’s uniqueness.


Every child is unique and knowing their love language(s) can help you to understand how each one of them gives and receives love. It helps to make alot of difference in our relationship with them.

A well loved child has a full love tank, is emotionally healthy, has less behavioral issues, has less need for peer or teachers’ attention and is not easily influenced by peer pressure.

You need to identify your child’s love language and put it to use. It will help you to connect with him/her better and he/she will be very happy with you.

1. Physical touch : This includes Hugs/kisses, pats on the back, tossing in the air, carrying in the arms, etc.

2. Words of affirmation: These refer to words of affection, praise, encouragement and the likes. E.g. words like “I care about you”, “l love you”, “you can do it”. Children who hear these words often don’t forget them easily.

3. Quality time: Focused/undivided attention. Quality time conveys “you mean so much to me”, “you are important”, “I like being with you”.
Its not just about the event to such kids but more of the fact that you are doing things together.
The child feels he/she is the most important thing in your life.

4. Gifts: Most children respond to this, however for some this is their primary love language. They see the gift as an extension of your love.

5. Act of service: Help them with their homework, play with the doll, fix their bicycle, wear their shoes. Get somewhat involved in activities that concern them.

Every child has one or more of the above as his/her primary love language, locate it and you will connect better with your child.

So what is your child’s love language?

Share your experience(s) on the topic, other mothers will love to hear from you.

  • Abimbola Ezekiel
    Posted at 21:37h, 01 November Reply

    My daughter is more conscious in this wise! Probably because she’s a girl. She always expect to be appreciated for all her effort, wether domestic or academic, unlike her elder and younger brothers.

  • theschoolofmothers
    Posted at 22:25h, 01 November Reply

    And I have come to see the difference between their generation and ours. They are more vocal than we were at the age. Which in it self is a good thing, if as parents we are open to learning and adapting.
    Thank you sis.

Post A Comment